PRSA offices to close on Monday, May 25, in observance of Memorial Day.
Your Public Relations and Communications Community

Industry Leaders Wanted

PRSA Nominating Process for 2016 PRSA Board of Directors

Did you miss the informational calls but still want to learn about serving on the PRSA National Board of Directors?

Join Nominating Committee chair Mickey G. Nall, APR, Fellow PRSA as he leads a conversation on the benefits of board service, the application process and necessary qualifications. Joining Nall is PRSA Chair-Elect Mark McClennan, APR, and PRSA CEO Joe Truncale, Ph.D., CAE who discuss current PRSA initiatives and the roles and responsibilities of board members.

Date of Recording:Friday, May 1, 2015
Recorded Call:

Opportunities are open to all interested, qualified and eligible candidates. If you are interested in a position or know someone who would make a good addition to PRSA leadership then click to learn more about the qualifications and application procedures.

Strong Boards Need Exceptional Leaders

PRSA’s Nominating Committee encourages dedicated members to apply for available PRSA Board leadership positions.  Serving on PRSA’s board of directors is a prominent leadership opportunity, not only within PRSA, but within the entire public relations profession.

The PRSA Bylaws charge the PRSA Nominating Committee with presenting nominees for the office of chair-elect, treasurer, secretary and board of directors to the delegates attending the November Leadership Assembly, who then cast their vote to elect future leaders.

PRSA Board of Directors Responsibilities

Be the public face of PRSA

  • Share the mission and vision of the organization.
  • Lead Chapter/District visits and outreach calls.
  • Serve as a media contact in coordination with PRSA staff and media policy.
  • Encourage PR professionals to join the organization.

Be a provider of resources and knowledge

  • Actively participate in meetings and calls.
  • Serve as board liaison to one of PRSA’s committees.
  • Provide insight on what is happening in the profession.
  • Help the organization grow through constructive contribution and collaboration.

Provide for succession

  • Encourage talented, capable members to run for office and serve in leadership roles.

Provide fiscal and strategic oversight

  • Provide strategic and high-level operational oversight.
  • Serve the organization as a whole.
  • Review financial results.
  • Approve plans and budgets.

Evaluate performance

  • Conduct review of CEO.
  • Oversee work of PRSA committees.
  • Conduct Board of Directors’ self-evaluation.

For questions about the process, please contact Donna Jonas at PRSA Headquarters at (212) 460-1403 or


Online PR Training: FREE With PRSA Membership

Broaden your skill set with access to an extensive library of live and on-demand professional development webinars — one of PRSA's premier member benefits.