Your Public Relations and Communications Community

Outstanding Educator Award

The Outstanding Educator Award recognizes a PRSA member who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public relations education through college or university teaching.

Nomination Procedures
Complete the online nomination form, which will ask for the following information:

  • A two-page summary of the nominee's qualifications that addresses the judging criteria.
  • Three seconding letters that address the judging criteria. Note that one of the three seconding letters must be from the highest ranking officer of a unit of PRSA, such as a Chapter, Section or District.
  • The nominee’s professional bio.
  • A list of PRSA activities and awards. Include chapter, district, section, national service and offices held, and awards received from PRSA.
  • A list of other activities and awards. Include leadership positions held in organizations other than PRSA, and awards received.
  • A list of public relations research and writing. Include articles published (if possible cite publications, dates and links), books published (written or edited, years and titles) and significant research developed.
  • A summary of the nominee's experience as a public relations practitioner (such as public relations counselor).
  • Synopses of student evaluations; track record of students placed in jobs; examples of innovation in the classroom; support and encouragement of PRSSA.
  • The nominee’s headshot.

Judging Criteria
Teaching: Demonstrate the nominee’s excellence in teaching based on contemporary, research-based knowledge of public relations, outstanding lectures and casework, and the development of teaching aids and methods.

Research: Cite examples of the nominee's research and writing that advances the teaching and practice of public relations.

Involvement with students: Explain how the nominee supported student activities, including counseling, placement assistance and advising groups such as PRSSA.

Involvement in the profession: Demonstrate how the nominee has served the advancement of the profession through involvement in professional organizations or creation of professional development programs.

Judging Procedures
All entries are reviewed and scored by PRSA’s Honors & Awards Committee according to the judging criteria and then approved by PRSA’s Board of Directors. The winner will be notified in late summer and invited to accept the award at PRSA’s International Conference.

NOTE: The nomination deadline is July 18, 2016.

To avoid a conflict of interest, the PRSA Chair is not eligible to receive an individual award during his or her term of office and for two years thereafter. Officers and members of the National PRSA Board of Directors and the National Honors & Awards Committee are not eligible to receive an Individual Award.

Previous Recipients

2016 - Marcia W. DiStaso, APR
2015 - Lynn Appelbaum, APR, Fellow PRSA
2014 - Julie Henderson, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA 
2013 - Bob "Pritch" Pritchard, APR, Fellow PRSA
2012 - Bey-Ling Sha, Ph.D., APR
2011 - Steve Quigley, APR
2010 - Kirk Hallahan, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2009 - Stephen D. Iseman, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2008 - David M. Dozier, Ph.D.
2007 - Lynne M. Sallot, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2006 - Dr. Bruce K. Berger
2005 - Dr. Rick Fischer, APR, Fellow PRSA
2004 - Kathleen S. Kelly Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2003 - Don Winslow Stacks, Ph.D.
2002 - Clarke L. Caywood, Ph. D.
2001 - Laurie Wilson, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2000 - William C. Adams, APR, Fellow PRSA
1999 - Carol Gorney, APR, Fellow PRSA,  Barbara Bealor Hines, Ph. D.
1998 - Melvin L. Sharpe, Ph. D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1997 - Maria Russell, APR, Fellow PRSA
1996 - Larissa A. Grunig, Ph. D.
1995 - Dean A. Kruckeberg, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1994 - Elizabeth L. Toth, Ph. D., APR
1993 - Donald K. Wright, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1992 - Judy VanSlyke Turk, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1991 - Glen M. Broom, Ph.D.
1990 - Hugh M. Culbertson, Ph.D.
1989 - James E. Grunig, Ph.D.
1988 - William P. Ehling, Ph.D.
1987 - Anthony J. Fulginiti, APR, Fellow PRSA
1986 - Parry D. Sorensen, APR
1985 - Norman R. Nager, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1984 - Dennis L. Wilcox, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1983 - Paul E. Dannelley, APR
1982 - Douglas Ann Newsom, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1981 - Frank E. Walsh, APR
1980 - H. Frazier Moore, Ph.D.
1979 - Kenneth Owler Smith, Ed.D., APR
1978 - Ray E. Hiebert, Ph.D., APR
1977 - Walter E. Griscti, APR
1976 - Albert Walker, Ph.D., APR
1975 - Raymond Simon, APR
1974 - Otto Lerbinger, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1973 - John E. Marston, APR
1972 - Alan Scott, Ed.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1971 - Walter W. Seifert, APR
1970 - Scott M. Cutlip, APR, Fellow PRSA

Join PRSA Today

FREE Integrated Marketing Training With Membership

Broaden your skill set with access to an extensive library of live and on-demand professional development webinars — one of PRSA's premier member benefits.