Your Public Relations and Communications Community

Professional Interest Section Awards

PRSA recognizes practitioners not only for their outstanding contributions to the public relations profession, but also for the expertise they provide to the specific industries in which they work. This is a unique opportunity for you to be honored within your industry and stand out among your peers.

David Ferguson Award for Outstanding Contributions to Public Relations Education by a Practitioner
Presented by the Educators Academy
The David Ferguson Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of public relations education. The award is named for David Ferguson, APR, Fellow PRSA, in recognition of his outstanding support to public relations education as PRSA president and co-chair of the PRSA Educational Affairs Committee.

Betsy Plank Graduate Research Competition and PRSA Top Faculty Paper Awards
Presented by the Educators Academy
These awards recognize educators, public relations graduate students and public relations professionals for written work that either tests, refines or expands public relations practice, research or theory; or critically reviews issues relevant to public relations theory or research.

Frank J. Weaver Lifetime Achievement Award
Presented by the Health Academy
The Frank J. Weaver Award honors individuals who, during the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the field of health care public relations and changed the practice of public relations in America. Frank J. Weaver (1946-1995) was a leader in health care public relations and marketing who received the award posthumously in 1995.

MacEachern Chief Executive Officer Award
Presented by the Health Academy
The MacEachern Chief Executive Officer Award recognizes health care chief executives who have used public relations in a particularly effective way to advance the goals of his or her organization. The award is named for Malcolm T. MacEachern, M.D. (1881-1956), an early champion of professional health care public relations.

D. Parke Gibson Pioneer Award
Presented by the Diversity Committee
The D. Parke Gibson Award honors individuals who have contributed to the increased awareness of public relations within multicultural communities and participated in the promotion of issues that meet the unique needs of these diverse communities. D. Parke Gibson was a pioneer in multicultural public relations who founded the first black-owned public relations firm, D. Parke Gibson International, in New York in 1960.

Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award
Presented by the Public Affairs & Government Section
The Lloyd B. Dennis Award recognizes individuals who have used their public affairs skills to promote truth, demonstrated high standards of integrity and honesty in business dealings and helped affect positive change within an organization. Lloyd B. Dennis was a leader in public affairs and former chair of the Public Affairs & Government Section.

Awards for Excellence in Technology Journalism
Presented by the Technology Section
The Technology Journalism Awards recognize journalists in general interest or business or technical/trade magazines and newsletters who have published articles that are valuable and newsworthy, communicate clearly, and are significant in explaining, interpreting and reporting innovation.

Technology PR Professional of the Year Award
Presented by the Technology Section
The award is intended to recognize one outstanding Section member who has demonstrated notable or outstanding service and/or contributions to the PRSA Technology Section, their employer or organization and to the practice of technology public relations communications.

Join PRSA Today

FREE Integrated Marketing Training With Membership

Broaden your skill set with access to an extensive library of live and on-demand professional development webinars — one of PRSA's premier member benefits.