2021 Call for Nominations for David Ferguson Award



Award for Outstanding Contributions to Public Relations Education by a Practitioner

The Public Relations Society of America's Educators Academy requests nominations of candidates for the David Ferguson Award. The award will be presented at the 2021 PRSA International Conference

Oct. 16, 2021 in Orlando, FL.

The David Ferguson Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of public relations education on the part of public relations professionals. The award honors the late David Ferguson, APR, Fellow PRSA, in recognition of his outstanding support to public relations education as PRSA president in 1985 and later as co-chair of the PRSA Educational Affairs Committee.

Ferguson recognized the importance of public relations education to the profession and helped to establish the five public relations course rule for creating and maintaining a PRSSA Chapter Charter. Identifying the equivalency of a major, specifically public relations course content, contributed to the importance of public relations faculty and enhanced the support being provided to such faculty.

In addition, Ferguson's leadership established the PRSA Certification program. This program enabled universities with public relations programs outside of journalism to achieve program review and those within journalism to have the benefit of an in-depth review by teams entirely comprising public relations professionals and faculty. The review process allowed reporting to top university administration as to the status of the program. The award recognizes practitioners who have shown a commitment to public relations education similar to Ferguson's.

Past Winners of the David Ferguson Award

Kim L. Hunter
Richard Edelman
Jack Felton, APR, Fellow PRSA
John Paluszek, APR, Fellow PRSA
Betsy Plank, APR, Fellow PRSA
Jon Riffel, APR
Mary Beth West, APR
E. Ronald "Ron" Culp, APR, Fellow PRSA
Gary McCormick
Harold Burson

Patrick Jackson, APR, Fellow PRSA Isobel Parke, APR, Fellow PRSA Ron Rhody, APR, Fellow PRSA Rhoda Weiss, APR, Fellow PRSA Frank Ovaitt, APR Judith Turner Phair, APR, Fellow PRSA David W. Brown Tina McCorkindale, Ph.D., APR Mickey Nall, APR, Fellow PRSA Del Galloway, APR, Fellow PRSA

Criteria: Clear past and current evidence of outstanding service and commitment to public relations education through service to PRSA and other professional organizations; university public relations advisory boards, educational committees, commissions, and foundation boards; PRSSA national / district / chapter advisory, speaker programs and national/district conference programs committees; and/or PRSA national / district / chapter committees and programs related to the needs of education.

Nominations: Please email a letter of nomination to Jensen Moore no later than June 6, 2021. Please contact Jensen with any questions via email or phone (jensenmoore@ou.edu or 225-402-8334).