### Greetings and Happy New Year IPA Members!

It is with great pleasure to serve as the 2020 Chair for PRSA's Independent Practitioner's Alliance, one of PRSA's fastest growing sections, and to introduce this year's IPA Executive Committee. The success of the section is directly tied to the time, effort and leadership provided by the Executive Committee members over the years and it is these efforts that have helped develop the valuable professional development programs we offer and the strong membership team that makes sure each member (new and not so new) knows how to get the most from their membership.

Our section is growing for good reason. More and more PR professionals are going out on their own and want to know what it takes to get prepared to be successful. That's the purpose behind the Independent Practitioner's Alliance Section. You'll notice that we have a number of past chairpersons that have remained on the EC to participate in different roles. JW Arnold for example, not only served as chair for two years, but is also responsible for developing IPA's annual primary research the "State of the Indie Business" Survey – and continues to spearhead that effort. If you didn't see the results of our latest research, you can access the report here.

But that's not all we do. As we develop our monthly programs we look at the factors influencing public relations with an eye towards what's changing and what opportunities are resulting from that change that our members need to be aware of.

If you'd like to get involved, my door (or <u>email</u>) is always open for a discussion on how you'd like to get involved and new ideas are always welcome.

Gina Milani

And now, let me introduce our new PRSA Independent Practitioner's Alliance 2020 Executive Committee:

Gina Milani, 2020 Chair & Sponsorship Team Milani Marketing Menlo Park & Angels Camp, California gina@milanimarketing.com

Kevin Bakewell, APR, 2021 Chair Elect
Bakewell Public Relations LLC
Tampa Bay, FL
kevin@bakewellpr.com

Dotti Gallagher, APR, Fellow, Secretary
Dotti Gallagher Consulting
Sandy, Utah
dotti@dottigallagherconsulting.com

### **MEMBERSHIP**

Bart Graham Sr., Membership Chair Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Largo, Florida bart.graham.sr@gmail.com

Carla Brown Lucas, Membership Team
Brown Lucas Consulting
Tallahassee, Florida
cblucas@brownlucas.com

Erynn Kerrigan, Membership Team W. Jordan, Utah erynnmkerrigan@gmail.com

## **PROGRAMS**

Avery Jones, Programs Lead
aBlazeprllc
Chicago area
avery@ablazeprllc.com

Akila Aisner, Programs Promotion
Healthcare Communications
Los Angeles Area
akilajaisner@gmail.com

Wendy Kurtz, APR, Programs: Moderator Elizabeth Charles & Associates Orlando, Florida wkurtz@ElizabethCharles.com

# **COMMUNICATIONS**

Ann M. Gynn, APR, Communications Chair G Force Communication Rocky River, Ohio anngynn@gmail.com

Michele Hujber, Blog Team Hujber Public Relations Titusville, NJ michele@hujberpr.com

## **District Liaisons**

Paula MacDonald, APR, Immediate Past Chair for 2019 Image Suite PR, St. Petersburg, Florida paula.macdonald@imagesuitepr.com Amy D. Newton (DC Area)
AmyNewton Public Relations
Leesburg, Virginia
amy@amynewtonpr.com

# At Large Members

J.W. Arnold, APR, Fellow, 2016 & 17 Chair Prdconline.com Washington, DC/Florida "State of the Indie Business" Survey jw@prdconline.com

Lauren Leetun, APR, 2018 Chair, Sponsorship Sprout Public Relations Orlando, Florida lauren@sproutpublicrelations.com

Jared C. Meade, APR, Special Projects
Owens Community College
Toledo, Ohio
jared\_meade@owens.edu