Your Public Relations and Communications Community

PRSA Leadership Assembly Approves PRSA Nominating Committee Selections at Annual Meeting in Atlanta

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)’s Leadership Assembly voted to elect Jane Dvorak, APR, Fellow PRSA, chair of the Society for 2017. Dvorak, an individual public relations practitioner, will serve as PRSA’s chair-elect on the national Board of Directors in 2016.
The Leadership Assembly, a group of more than 300 delegates representing PRSA’s Districts, Chapters, Sections and student society, voted to ratify the PRSA Nominating Committee’s selection of Dvorak to lead the organization beginning Jan. 1, 2017. The Assembly meets annually immediately prior to the PRSA International Conference.  

“There is great opportunity ahead for PRSA and I’m honored to have been selected to help move the Society at this higher level,” said Dvorak. “As PRSA’s membership now spans multiple member sectors, we have a great opportunity to bring relevance at many levels and throughout a career.  I’m eager to help drive this process with such a committed group of volunteers and staff, all ensuring that public relations remains vibrant and vital to our businesses and associations long into the future.”
In addition to Dvorak’s appointment, several other candidates selected by the Nominating Committee were elected to the PRSA Board of Directors today for two-year terms beginning in 2016. The new board members are:


  • Treasurer: Deborah A. Silverman, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, associate professor of communication, SUNY Buffalo State, Buffalo, N.Y.; and
  • Secretary: Anthony W. D'Angelo, APR, Fellow PRSA, senior manager, communications, ITT Corporation, Seneca Falls, N.Y.

District Representatives

  • Director, Midwest District: Joyce A. Lofstrom, APR, senior director, corporate communications, HIMSS, Chicago, Ill.;
  • Director, North Pacific District: Ronele M. Dotson, APR, president, RAD Strategies Inc., Reno, Nev.;
  • Director, Southeast District: Amy T. Coward, APR, Fellow PRSA, vice president, public relations, Palmetto Health Foundation, Columbia, S.C.;
  • Director, Southwest District: Sam James Morrey Sims, APR, director of public relations & marketing, US Fleet Tracking, Edmond, Okla.; and
  • Director, Sunshine District: Bonnie P. Upright, APR, senior vice president, Olympus Foundation Management, Orange Park, Fla.

Director At-Large

  • Don Hale, vice president for public relations and marketing communications, Georgia State University, Atlanta, Ga.

They join incumbent Board of Directors members returning for 2016, including:

  • Chair: Mark W. McClennan, APR
  • Immediate-Past Chair: Kathy Barbour, APR, chief communications officer, ‎Acosta Sales & Marketing, Jacksonville, Fla.

Board of Directors:

  • Sonja Popp-Stahly, APR, director, digital media communications, Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis, Ind.;
  • Janet E. Kacskos, APR, Fellow PRSA, director of communications, Millersville University of Pennsylvania, Millersville, Pa.;
  • JoAnn S. LeSage Nelson, APR, vice president, client services, Pierce Communications, Albany, N.Y.;
  • Lea-Ann O'Hare Germinder, APR, Fellow PRSA, president, Germinder & Associates, Inc., New York, N.Y.; and
  • Todd A. Cooley, APR, principal, The Todd Cooley Company, Santa Ana, Calif.
  • T. Garland Stansell, APR, chief communications officer, Children's of Alabama, Birmingham, Ala.

Dvorak has received a number of awards for comprehensive campaigns, collateral materials, event planning and corporate imaging pieces. Dvorak is a 2011 PRSA Silver Anvil winner, received the PRSA Colorado 2015 Grand Gold Pick and Small Business Award, was named the 2012 Swede Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and is the PRSA Colorado Chapter 2013 Mentor of the Year. 

Join PRSA Today

FREE Integrated Marketing Training With Membership

Broaden your skill set with access to an extensive library of live and on-demand professional development webinars — one of PRSA's premier member benefits.