Home / Publications & News / Newsroom / News

PRSA Foundation Announces 2019 Student Travel Grants For PRSSA International Conference

Aug. 20, 2019

For the Third Year in a Row, the PRSA Foundation is Supporting Multicultural Students, Sending Eight to the PRSSA International Conference

NEW YORK, Aug. 20, 2019 The PRSA Foundation today announced eight students have received grants to attend the PRSSA 2019 International Conference, taking place from October 18–22 in San Diego. This marks the third year the PRSA Foundation has given out the awards, which allot up to $2,500 per student.

The grant is one of the many ways the PRSA Foundation and PRSSA are working together to encourage and support multicultural students planning to pursue careers in public relations and related fields. The recipients represent students who attend schools across the United States and Argentina.

“We are so proud of the students selected to attend the International Conference this year,” said Carmella Glover, Executive Director, PRSA Foundation. “These hard-working individuals reflect the diversity, equity and inclusion at the core of the Foundation’s mission. The opportunity to attend the conference is an invaluable experience and it is the PRSA Foundation’s hope that the recipients, upon graduation, will bring value to the profession, and continue to be shining lights for the diverse markets we serve.”

“PRSSA along with the PRSA Foundation is committed to serving students with diverse backgrounds, and we are so pleased to give these talented individuals the opportunity to attend the PRSSA International Conference,” said Jeneen Garcia, Executive Director, PRSSA. “We hope the students take advantage of the many learning opportunities at their disposal, and look forward to seeing how these individuals make their mark on the public relations profession.”

At the PRSSA International Conference, awardees will have the unique opportunity to meet leading executives from the communications industry. The grant recipients will have numerous occasions to network with these professionals and build lasting relationships. Students will also have the chance to attend several noteworthy speaker sessions in addition to select sessions at the PRSA International Conference.

As part of the award, the students will also receive one-on-one mentoring from PRSA members, as well as attend an informative panel discussion with leaders in the industry and PRSA College of Fellows members.

Below are the 2019 PRSA Foundation Student Travel Grant Award Winners:

2019 PRSA Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Giana Darville – Oakwood University (Huntsville, AL)
Elsabete Kebede San Jose State University (San Jose, CA)
Jannah Khalil – California State University, Sacramento (Sacramento, CA)
Gaokalia Mindy Lee Metropolitan State University (Saint Paul, MN)
Facundo Luque Universidad Argentina de la Empresa (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Deontre’ McCray Claflin University (Orangeburg, SC)
Katherine Moore University of Florida (Gainesville, FL)
Jessica Treviño – University of Texas at Arlington (Arlington, TX)

About PRSA Foundation
The PRSA Foundation is an independent, 501 (c) (3) charitable organization that is committed to promoting diversity among public relations professionals and companies so that they can best serve the public good and address the needs of a diverse world.

About the Public Relations Student Society of America
The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is the foremost organization for students interested in public relations and communications. Founded in 1968 by its parent organization, the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), PRSSA includes nearly 10,000 student members and advisers, and is active on nearly 375 colleges and university campuses, including in Argentina, Peru and Colombia. For more information, please visit www.prssa.org.

Photo key (left to right): Deontre’ McCray, Elsabete Kebede, Facundo Luque, Giana Darville, Jannah Khalil, Jessica Treviño, Katherine Moore, Gaokalia Mindy Lee

 # # #

Media Contact:
Vinica Weiss
(212) 460-1487

Grant Recipients Photo Banner


Karen Mateo  
Chief Communications Officer
(212) 460-1454

Rod Granger  
Director, Content and Integrated Communications
(212) 460-0307

Vinica Weiss  

Communications Associate

(212) 460-1479