group of PRSSA members
Home / PRSSA / Scholarships & Awards / Bateman Case Study Competition / 2016 Bateman Case Study Competition

2016 Bateman Case Study Competition

Sponsored by The Plank Center for Leadership in Public Relations and Edelman

PRSSA challenged participants of the PRSSA 2016 Bateman Case Study Competition to raise awareness and spark local and national dialogue around the importance of education, in partnership with Student Veterans of America (SVA)The Plank Center for Leadership in Public Relations and Edelman.

The goals of this year’s Bateman Competition were to increase awareness on college campuses and in communities about veterans who are students around the globe as well as increasing the support and networks for these deserving individuals.

Judging Results

PRSSA Headquarters received 70 entries for the PRSSA 2016 Bateman Case Study Competition. Of these submissions, 16 entries received honorable mention and three were chosen as finalists and presented their campaigns to a panel of judges on Wednesday, May 18, in Chicago. The results are below:

Winner News Release

Finalist News Release


  • First Place: University of Alabama (campaign summary PDF)
  • Second Place: Loyola University New Orleans
  • Third Place: Samford University

Honorable Mentions

  • Brigham Young University, Idaho - Dynamix PR
  • Brigham Young University, Idaho - Grand Teton Public Relations
  • California State University Long Beach
  • DePaul University - Team Blue Crew
  • Grand Valley State University - GrandPR
  • Kent State University - Blue
  • Oklahoma Christian University
  • San Jose State University
  • Texas Christian University - Lila PR
  • University of Florida
  • University of Nevada, Reno
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
  • Utah Valley University - Apogee PR
  • Washington State University
  • Western Kentucky University - Team Three


PRSA/PRSSA would like to thank the first phase judges of the Competition for their time and expertise.

  • Chaunda Ball-Martin
  • Walter R. Bateman II, CPCU, ARM
  • Beverly Braga
  • Lourdes Brezo-Martinez
  • Jeremy Bridgman, APR
  • Chance Browning
  • Amelie Bruzat
  • Jon Paul Buchmeyer
  • Sandy Charet
  • Emily Delaney
  • Christina Divigard
  • Michael M. Durand
  • Natan Edelsburg
  • Henry Feintuch
  • Esther Fraser
  • Brody Gordon
  • Carole M. Gorney, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Stephanie Gouss, APR
  • David Graubard
  • Naomi T. Johnson
  • Gina Pesko Laughlin
  • Kathy Lewton, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Christopher Lukach, APR
  • Gary D. McCormick, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Jacquie McMahon
  • Arabella C. Meyer
  • Drew Mitchell
  • John J. Moscatelli, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Kaitlyn Nealy
  • Danielle Paleafico
  • Hanna Porterfield
  • Kendall Schmidt
  • Emily Simmons
  • Jonathan R. Slater, Ph.D.
  • Elizabeth Stoltz
  • Emmanuel Tchividjian
  • Jamie Warner

Competition Materials