Home / Conferences & Awards / Awards / Individual Awards / D. Parke Gibson Award

D. Parke Gibson Award

The D. Parke Gibson Award is PRSA’s highest individual award presented to a public relations professional that has contributed to the increased awareness of public relations within multicultural communities and participated in the promotion of issues that meet the special informational and educational needs of these diverse communities.

The deadline for nominations is July 16, 2021.


Nomination Procedures

Complete the online nomination form, which will ask for the following information:

Anyone may nominate a candidate. Each nomination must include a letter summarizing the candidate’s qualifications in support of the judging criteria. The letter must not be longer than two typed pages.

One letter that seconds the nomination must accompany each nomination. The second letter must also substantively address the criteria for the award.

Please note: One of the two nominators must be a PRSA member. Any nomination put forward without at least one nominator being a PRSA member will not be reviewed.


Judging Criteria

Achievements: Detail the professional achievements of the nominee and demonstrate how these have advanced the profession of public relations and its positive visibility to multicultural communities.

Application: Show how the nominee has exhibited personal leadership and dedication to the communications industry.

Awards: List awards and other forms of recognition the nominee has received for public relations accomplishments and for advancing the tenets of multicultural communications.

Judging Procedures

All entries are reviewed and scored by PRSA’s Honors & Awards Committee according to the judging criteria and then approved by PRSA’s Board of Directors. The winner will be notified in late summer and invited to accept the award at PRSA’s International Conference.

To avoid a conflict of interest, the PRSA Chair is not eligible to receive an individual award during his or her term of office and for two years thereafter. Officers and members of the National PRSA Board of Directors and the National Honors & Awards Committee are not eligible to receive an Individual Award.