Home / Conferences & Awards / Awards / Individual Awards / The Patrick Jackson Award for Distinguished Service to PRSA

The Patrick Jackson Award for Distinguished Service to PRSA

This award, named in honor of the late Patrick Jackson, APR, Fellow PRSA, recognizes an experienced PRSA member in good standing who has significantly advanced PRSA by working to support Chapters, Districts and/or National, and inspiring fellow practitioners, professionally and personally.

The award recognizes an experienced PRSA member in good standing whose work supporting Chapters, Districts and/or National and whose inspiration of fellow practitioners professionally and personally has significantly advanced PRSA.

Nomination Procedures

Complete the online nomination form, which will ask for the following information:

  • A two-page summary of the nominee’s qualifications that addresses the judging criteria.
  • Three seconding letters addressing the judging criteria to support the nominee’s qualifications. One must be from a Chapter President, Section Chair, District Chair, National Task Force Chair, or National Committee Chair. In addition, at least one letter should be from a person who has been mentored or inspired by nominee.
  • The nominee’s professional bio.
  • A list of PRSA activities and awards.  Include Chapter, District, Section, and National service and offices held, and honors and awards such as APR or College of Fellows designation received from PRSA.
  • A list of other activities and awards. Include leadership positions held in organizations other than PRSA, and awards received.
  • Describe mentoring/internship programs nominee has participated in and ways in which individuals and/or groups have been inspired by his/her counsel.
  • The nominee’s headshot.
  • Outline how the nominee’s actions and participation have impacted the growth of PRSA.



Judging Criteria


  • How the nominee has impacted and advanced PRSA through his or her actions on its behalf.
  • Contributions to the profession and to professionals.
  • Showcase the impact on the community due to initiatives by the nominee.
  • Sustained engagement over time. 

Judging Procedures

All entries are reviewed and scored by PRSA’s Honors & Awards Committee according to the judging criteria and then approved by PRSA’s Board of Directors. The winner will be notified in late summer and invited to accept the award at PRSA’s International Conference.

To avoid a conflict of interest, the PRSA Chair is not eligible to receive an individual award during his or her term of office and for two years thereafter. Officers and members of the National PRSA Board of Directors and the National Honors & Awards Committee are not eligible to receive an Individual Award.

Previous Recipients
2020 – David C. Rickey, APR
2019 – Mary Deming Barber, APR, Fellow PRSA

2018 – No Award
2017 – Maria P. Russell, APR, Fellow PRSA
2016 – Abbie S. Fink
2015 – Gary D. McCormick, APR, Fellow PRSA
2014 – Kathleen Larey Lewton, MHA, APR, Fellow PRSA
2013 – No Award
2012 – No Award
2011 – No Award
2010 – Ferne Bonomi, APR, Fellow PRSA
2009 – No Award
2008 – Art Stevens, APR, Fellow PRSA
2007 – No Award
2006 – Melvin L. Sharpe, APR, Fellow PRSA
2005 – Dwayne Summar, APR, Fellow PRSA
2004 – James E. Lukaszewski, ABC, APR, Fellow PRSA
2003 – Deanna K.W. Pelfrey, APR, Fellow PRSA
2002 – John L. Paluszek, APR, Fellow PRSA
2001 – Betsy Ann Plank, APR, Fellow PRSA