Home / Conferences & Awards / Awards / Individual Awards / Gold Anvil Award

Gold Anvil Award

The Gold Anvil is the Society’s highest individual award. It is considered to be the PRSA lifetime achievement award and is presented to a public relations practitioner who is a PRSA member in good standing with a minimum of 20 years of experience and whose accomplishments have made a major contribution to the profession.

The deadline for nominations is July 21, 2023.


Nomination Procedures

Complete the online nomination form, which will ask for the following information:

  • A two-page summary of the nominee’s qualifications that addresses the judging criteria.
  • Three seconding letters addressing the judging criteria to support nominee’s qualifications. One of the three must be from a Chapter President, Section Chair, District Chair, National Task Force Chair or National Committee Chair.
  • The nominee’s professional bio.
  • A list of PRSA activities and awards.  Include Chapter, District, Section and National service and offices held, and awards received from PRSA
  • A list of other activities and awards.  Include leadership positions held in organizations other than PRSA and awards received.
  • The nominee’s headshot.
  • List Contributions to the profession outside of PRSA.  Show how the nominee has furthered the credibility of PRSA by participation in professional activities outside of the Society.


Judging Criteria
  • Gold Anvil Achievements: Detail the achievements of the nominee and demonstrate how these have advanced the profession of public relations and its positive visibility.
  • Application: Show how the nominee has used public relations concepts and techniques to successfully solve problems or make the most of opportunities.
  • Awards: List awards and other forms of recognition the nominee has received for public relations accomplishments.
  • Service to PRSA: Cite offices, committee assignments and other examples of the nominee’s service to the Society.
  • Service to the profession:Cite examples of participation in and contributions to professional activities outside of PRSA.
    While not required, strong consideration will be given to those with an APR designation.
Judging Procedures

All entries are reviewed and scored by PRSA’s Honors & Awards Committee according to the judging criteria and then approved by PRSA’s Board of Directors. The winner will be notified in late summer and invited to accept the award at PRSA’s International Conference.

To avoid a conflict of interest, the PRSA Chair is not eligible to receive an individual award during his or her term of office and for two years thereafter. Officers and members of the National PRSA Board of Directors and the National Honors & Awards Committee are not eligible to receive an Individual Award.

Previous Recipients

2023 - Gary D. McCormick, APR, Fellow PRSA
2022 - Mickey G. Nall, APR, Fellow PRSA
2021 - Dean A. Kruckeberg, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA 
2020 – Maria P. Russell, APR, Fellow PRSA
2019 – Rhoda Weiss, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2018 – Del Galloway, APR, Fellow PRSA
2017 – Louis Capozzi APR, Fellow PRSA
2016 – Douglas Ann Newsom, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2015 – E. Ronald Culp, Fellow PRSA
2014 – Frederick H. Cook, Fellow PRSA
2013 – Douglas K. Spong, APR, Fellow PRSA
2012 – Raymond L. Kotcher, Fellow PRSA
2011 – Cheryl Procter-Rogers, APR, Fellow PRSA
2010 – Judith T. Phair, APR, Fellow PRSA
2009 – Michael L. Herman, APR, Fellow PRSA
2008 – Joe S. Epley, APR, Fellow PRSA
2007 – Retired Brigadier General H. J. (Jerry) Dalton Jr., APR, Fellow PRSA
2006 – Dr. Debra A. Miller, APR, Fellow PRSA
2005 – Al Golin, Fellow PRSA
2004 – Thomas W. Hoog, Fellow PRSA
2003 – John D. Graham, APR, Fellow PRSA
2002 – Joseph A. Vecchione, APR, Fellow PRSA
2001 – Ofield Dukes, APR, Fellow PRSA
2000 – Thomas L. Harris, APR, Fellow PRSA
1999 – Daniel J. Edelman, APR, Fellow PRSA
1998 – John M. Reed, APR, Fellow PRSA
1997 – Edward Block, Fellow PRSA
1996 – Harland W. (Hal) Warner, APR, Fellow PRSA
1995 – Scott M. Cutlip, APR, Fellow PRSA
1994 – John L. Paluszek, APR, Fellow PRSA
1993 – Barbara Hunter, APR, Fellow PRSA
1992 – John W. Felton, APR, Fellow PRSA
1991 – John E. Sattler, APR
1990 – David Ferguson, APR, Fellow PRSA, &  Richard Weiner, APR, Fellow PRSA
1989 – Lawrence G. Foster, APR, Fellow PRSA
1988 – John F. Budd, Jr., APR, Fellow PRSA
1987 – Chester Burger, APR, Fellow PRSA
1986 – Patrick Jackson, APR, Fellow PRSA
1985 – Leone Baxter, APR, Fellow PRSA
1984 – Carl F. Hawver, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1983 – Donald B. McCammond, APR, Fellow PRSA
1982 – Frank W. Wylie, APR, Fellow PRSA
1981 – Allen H. Center, APR, Fellow PRSA
1980 – Harold Burson, APR, Fellow PRSA
1979 – Philip Lesly, APR, Fellow PRSA, &  J. Handly Wright, APR, Fellow PRSA
1978 – James F. Fox, APR, Fellow PRSA
1977 – Betsy Ann Plank, APR, Fellow PRSA
1976 – Edward L. Bernays, APR, Fellow PRSA
1975 – J. Carroll Bateman, APR
1974 – Denny S. Griswold, APR, Fellow PRSA & Dan J. Forrestal, APR, Fellow PRSA
1973 – George Hammond, APR, Fellow PRSA
1972 – Ralph E. Frede, APR, Fellow PRSA
1971 – No Award
1970 – Bert C. Gross
1969 – Rex F. Harlow, Ph.D., APR
1968 – Ward B. Stevenson, APR
1967 – Yves Jasmin
1966 – Kalman B. Druck, APR, Fellow PRSA
1965 – Lee K. Jaffe, APR, Fellow PRSA, &  Robert E. Kingsley
1964 – Kenneth Youel, APR, Fellow PRSA
1963 – G. Edward Pendray, &  Harold Brayman
1962 – Earl Newsom
1961 – No Award
1960 – Carroll R. West, George M. Crowson
1959 – Hale Nelson, APR, Fellow PRSA, &  Conger Reynolds
1958 – Thomas J. Ross
1957 – Ed Lipscomb, APR, Fellow PRSA, &  John W. Hill, Richard S. Falk
1956 – No Award
1955 – Pendleton Dudley
1948 – W. Howard Chase, APR, Fellow PRSA